search for books and compare prices
cover image
Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse
By James F. Amos (foreword by) and Robin Hutton
Price
Store
Arrives
Preparing
Shipping
The price is the lowest for any condition, which may be new or used; other conditions may also be available. Rental copies must be returned at the end of the designated period, and may involve a deposit.
Jump down to see edition details for: Hardcover | Paperback | CD/Spoken Word
Bibliographic Detail
Publisher Regnery Pub
Publication date August 10, 2015
Pages 346
Binding Paperback
Edition Pap/crds r
Book category Adult Non-Fiction
ISBN-13 9781621573814
ISBN-10 1621573818
Dimensions 1 by 6 by 9 in.
Weight 0.90 lbs.
Original list price $16.99
Amazon.com says people who bought this book also bought:
The Perfect Horse | Gunner | The Horse God Built | Reckless | The Eighty-Dollar Champion
Summaries and Reviews
Amazon.com description: Product Description:
A New York Times Bestseller!

From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines."

A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning, belonged to a young boy named Kim-Huk-Moon. In order to pay for a prosthetic leg for his sister, Kim made the difficult decision to sell his beloved companion. Lieutenant Eric Pedersen purchased the bodacious mare and renamed her Reckless, for the Recoilless Rifles Platoon, Anti-Tank Division, of the 5th Marines she’d be joining.

The four-legged equine braved minefields and hailing shrapnel to deliver ammunition to her division on the frontlines. In one day alone, performing fifty-one trips up and down treacherous terrain, covering a distance of over thirty-five miles, and rescuing wounded comrades-in-arms, Reckless demonstrated her steadfast devotion to the Marines who had become her herd.

Despite only measuring about thirteen hands high, this pint-sized equine became an American hero. Reckless was awarded two Purple Hearts for her valor and was officially promoted to staff sergeant twice, a distinction never bestowed upon an animal before or since.

Author Robin Hutton has reignited excitement about this nearly forgotten legend, realizing the Sgt. Reckless Memorial Monument at the National Museum of the Marine Corps, completed in July 2013, and now spurring the creation of a second memorial at Camp Pendleton, California, where Reckless lived out the rest of her days.

The paperback edition includes a new foreword by General James F. Amos, 35th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps. It will appeal to fans of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit, Elizabeth Letts' The Eighty Dollar Champion, and the feature film War Horse.


Editions
Hardcover
Book cover for 9781621572633
 
from Regnery Pub (July 28, 2014)
9781621572633 | details & prices | 346 pages | 6.25 × 9.50 × 1.25 in. | 1.35 lbs | List price $27.99
About: New York Times Bestseller!
Paperback
Book cover for 9781621573814
 
The price comparison is for this edition
With James F. Amos (other contributor) | Pap/crds r edition from Regnery Pub (August 10, 2015)
9781621573814 | details & prices | 346 pages | 6.00 × 9.00 × 1.00 in. | 0.90 lbs | List price $16.99
About: A New York Times Bestseller!
CD/Spoken Word
Book cover for 9781483025889
 
With Susan Boyce (other contributor) | Unabridged edition from Blackstone Audio Inc (August 15, 2014)
9781483025889 | details & prices | 5.25 × 6.00 × 0.50 in. | 0.35 lbs | List price $34.95
About: [Read by Susan Boyce] This is the complete and captivating account of how a would-be Korean racehorse became one of the greatest Marine Corps wartime heroes.

Pricing is shown for items sent to or within the U.S., excluding shipping and tax. Please consult the store to determine exact fees. No warranties are made express or implied about the accuracy, timeliness, merit, or value of the information provided. Information subject to change without notice. isbn.nu is not a bookseller, just an information source.